New Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra Presents
New Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra
event New Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra thumbnail

Regular: $25
Members, Seniors, Students: $18
Children: $15

Each ticket subject to a $5 service fee.


NASO is delighted to welcome Kyle Ritenauer for a return appearance as Guest Conductor. The Piano Concerto No. 5 was the last piano concerto written by Beethoven and was dedicated to Archduke Rudolf who appeared as soloist for the premiere performance. Grace Han will do the honors for this concert and brings with her the many skills honed at the Manhattan School of Music. The work bears the title "Emperor" which was bestowed not by Beethoven but by his publisher: perhaps because of the large musical nature of the work or perhaps as a reference to Napoleon. Mendelssohn's Symphony No. 4 is titled "Italian" for a literal reason: the work recalls the sights and sounds of Italy encountered and sketched by the composer in his 1829-1831 tour of Europe. It is a joyful and popular work.