New Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra Presents
New Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra 40th Anniversary
event New Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra 40th Anniversary thumbnail
$25; Members, Seniors, Students $18;
Children $15

Each ticket subject to a $5 service fee.

40 + 100

Brahms composed his Symphony No. 2 in the summer of 1877 and it was premiered that same year in Vienna. Conductor Tong Chen continues to celebrate NASO's 40th Anniversary Season with a performance of this masterwork which is 100 years older than the orchestra! The concert opener is an even older work: Beethoven's Coriolan Overture, written in 1807 (do the math!). Flutist David Ordovsky, a recent graduate of Mannes College of Music and first prize winner of the New York Flute Club's 2015 Competition, is the featured soloist in Ibert's intricate Flute Concerto and we anticipate a dazzling performance. This will be a NASO début performance.