The American Dream
event The American Dream thumbnail
$32; Member $27; 30 and under (with valid ID) $20

Each ticket subject to a $5 service fee.

Exploring the romantic notion of the American Dream, this evening of performance and conversation with the Cassatt Quartet offers Dvořák's iconic "American" Quartet, Peter Schickele's "American Dreams" Quartet, and the world premiere of Source Code by the “appealing and inventive"(Washington Post) Jessie Montgomery, commissioned by Symphony Space. Accompanying the program will be haunting imagery by socio documentary photographer Peter Kayafas from his work TOTEMS.


Antonín Dvořák: String Quartet No. 12 "American"
    I. Allegro ma non troppo
    II. Lento
    III. Molto vivace
    IV. Vivace ma non troppo

-Conversation with Peter Kayafas and projections of images from TOTEMS-


-Conversation with Jessie Montgomery and Peter Schickele-

Jessie Montgomery: Source Code (World Premiere)

Peter Schickele: String Quartet No. 1 "American Dreams"
    I. Opening Diptych
    II. Four Studies
    III. Music at Dawn
    IV. Dance Music
    V. Closing Diptych

Part of Symphony Space's In the Salon series.

About the WorksAbout the Cassatt Quartet