The Music of Now Marathon
event The Music of Now Marathon thumbnail
$20; Under 30 $15

Each ticket subject to a $5 service fee.

Kicking off the fourth annual citywide Composers Now Festival (under the leadership of composer Tania León) is Symphony Space's genre-busting music marathon, curated by Symphony Space Artistic Director, composer Laura Kaminsky. From electronic experimentation to post-minimalism, to spectralist sonorities to Latin jazz, the marathon brings the broadest range of new music by today's emerging and established composers and composer-performers to the stage.



Libby Larsen: Schoenberg, Schenker, Schillinger

Cassatt Quartet
Muneko Otani, violin
Jennifer Leshnower, violin
Sarah Adams, viola
Nicole Johnson, cello

Octavio Vazquez: Trio for Oboe, Bassoon and Piano *World Premiere*

Poulenc Trio
Vladimir Lande, oboe
Bryan Young, bassoon
Irina Kaplan, piano

Susan Botti: Gates of Silence
     I. Lament: The Fallen City

Ensemble Pi

Airi Yoshioka, violin
Idith Meshulam, piano

Anna Weesner: Sound as Four, Sound as One

Cassatt Quartet

Errollyn Wallen:

*World premiere of piano version*
More Light for solo piano
I Wouldn’t Normally Say
for solo piano *New York premiere*
On the Mountain US premiere
Peace on Earth
US premiere
What’s up Doc?

Errollyn Wallen, voice and piano

Jakov Jakoulov: Yiddish Lexicon *NY premiere*

Poulenc Trio


Angélica Negrón: Cosmovisión *World Premiere* and El reloj *World Premiere*

Angélica Negrón, voice, toys, accordion
Nuiko Wadden, harp
Shayna Dunkelman, xylosynth

Bernard Rands: Memo 5 

Ursula Oppens, piano

Yosvany Terry:

Trio Concertante
*World Premiere* and Suite Allegories *World Premiere*

Bohemian Trio
Yosvany Terry, saxophones
Ruben Kodheli, cello
Orlando Alonso, piano

Martha Mooke:

Enharmonic Vision

     I. Raindance   
     II. News    
     III. Drifting   
     IV. Winds of Arden    
     V. Terminal Baggage

Virtual Corridors
Café Mars
Ice 4


Martha Mooke, electric viola


Polina Nazaykinskaya: Passacaglia Zero 

Nouveau Classical Project
Isabel Kim, clarinet
Marina Kifferstein, violin
Hannah Levinson, viola
Rose Bellini, cello
Sugar Vendil, piano
Walter Aparicio, piano

Huck Hodge: Early Lyrics

Nouveau Classical Project
Amanda Gregory, soprano
Amelia Lukas, flute
Isabel Kim, clarinet
Marina Kifferstein, violin
Rose Bellini, cello
Sugar Vendil, piano
Huck Hodge, electronics
Whitney George, conductor
Jenny Lai, stylist

Mimi Stillman: Huldah for solo flute *World Premiere*

Mimi Stillman, flute

Jessie Montgomery: Break Away *World Premiere* and Voodoo Dolls

Curtis Stewart, violin
Jannina Norpoth, violin 
Nick Revel, viola
Amanda Gookin, cello

Jane Ira Bloom: Jazz Time Trials

Jane Ira Bloom, soprano saxophone
Dean Johnson, bass
Bobby Previte, drums


Fang Man:

A Folktale of the Four Dragons II for solo flute and tape *World Premiere*

Mimi Stillman, flute

Shirish Korde: KA  *NY premiere*
      I. Anusvara-5th Prism
      II. Lalit
      III. Ka

Deepti Navaratna, Carnatic soprano
Jan Müller-Szeraws, cello
Amit Kavthekar, tabla
Jonathan Hess, percussion

Adam O’Farrill: Run and Jump, Imaginator, and Sensations

The O'Farrill Brothers Band
Adam O’Farrill, trumpet
Livio Almeida, tenor sax
Gabe Schnider, guitar
Guy Mintus, piano
Walter Stinson, bass

About the ArtistsAbout the Works