Farewell Letters with soprano Lucy Shelton and the Colorado Quartet
event Farewell Letters with soprano Lucy Shelton and the Colorado Quartet thumbnail
$30; Members $25; Under 30 $15

Each ticket subject to a $5 service fee.

The Colorado Quartet bids farewell after an illustrious career of 30 years with their final New York performance. Acclaimed soprano Lucy Shelton joins them in the world premiere of Tamar Muskal's new piece based on "Farewell Letters to the Beloved One" by Hanoch Levin. The evening pairs this haunting new work with Leoš Janáček's "manifesto on love," the Quartet No. 2, Intimate Letters. The Muskal was commissioned by the Quartet in collaboration with Symphony Space.

Julie Rosenfeld, violin
D. Lydia Redding, violin
Marka Gustavsson, viola
Katie Schlaikjer, cello

"As virtuosic show, Shelton's performance was memorable, but as interpretive and musical exploration, its scope seemed limitless." -The Philadelphia Inquirer

Leoš Janáček: String Quartet No. 2, “Intimate Letters” 

     I.               Andante – Con moto – Allegro
     II.             Adagio – Vivace
     III.           Moderato – Andante – Adagio
     IV.            Allegro – Andante – Adagio

-A conversation with members of the Colorado Quartet, Tamar Muskal, and Laura Kaminsky-

Tamar Muskal: Farewell Letters to the Beloved One for String Quartet and Soprano

     I. The Machine Room Of Love
     II. The Warrior
     III. Awaiting Your Arrival
     IV. Labor
     V. As You Crouch At The Pit's Edge

Text by Hanoch Levin
Translation by Chaya Galai


About the WorksAbout the Artists