Close Search

Event Program



Wall to Wall Women of Soul shines a light on the incredible women artists of soul's past, present, and future. Join us for the classic soul you know and love—and discover fresh interpretations and new artists—in this high-energy, multi-genre, pure-joy celebration of the iconic women who defied the odds and defined the genre.

Artists and program are subject to change.

Curated by Monique Martin.

The Artists

More Information

Segment One: 3pm – 5pm

Marcelle Davis-Lashley: Gospel Soul

Lulada Club: Latin Soul

Mahogany Brown: Poetic Soul #1 (via video)

Xavier Smith: Tribute to Chaka Khan

Transition music: Soul DJ Jam with Mari Ella

Segment Two: 5pm – 7pm

Ladies of Hip-Hop: Soul Music and Social Dance

J. Hoard: Tribute to Whitney Houston

Mahogany Brown: Poetic Soul #2 (via video)

The Soapbox Presents: Soul Mixtape

Transition music: Soul DJ Jam with Mari Ella

Segment Three: 7pm – 9pm

Martha Redbone: Indigenous Soul

Anthony Mills: Tribute to Anita Baker

Marcelle Davis-Lashley: Gospel Soul #3 (via video)

Thembisa Mshaka: In conversation with Nona Hendryx and Kimberly Nichole

GLR¥A and The Rakiem Walker Project: The Divas of Soul

Transition music: Soul DJ Jam with DJ Miss Saigon

Segment Four: 9pm – 11pm

LaChanze: Chaka, Aretha, and Gladys

Nona Hendryx: The Music of Betty Davis

Funding Credits

Wall to Wall is made possible by the generosity of the Howard Gilman Foundation, the MacMillan Family Foundation, The Shubert Foundation, the Charina Endowment Fund, the Blanchette Hooker Rockefeller Fund, The Fan Fox & Leslie R. Samuels Foundation, the Michael Tuch Foundation, The Vidda Foundation, the Lemberg Foundation, the Joseph and Joan Cullman Foundation for the Arts, the Grodzins Fund, the Herman Goldman Foundation and the Merrill G. and Emita E. Hastings Foundation.

This program is also made possible with public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Kathy Hochul and the New York State Legislature, and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.

This program also receives support from an endowment established by The Bydale Foundation, the Mary Flagler Cary Charitable Trust, The Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation, Christopher and Barbara Dixon, the Herman Goldman Foundation, William and Angela Haines, Walter and Marge Scheuer, and Zabar’s.

Symphony Space thanks our generous supporters, including our Board of Directors, Producers Circle, and members, who make our programs possible with their annual support.

Flowers courtesy of PlantShed

Toshi logo banner 22 1
Symphony Space Staff

Kathy Landau Executive Director
Peg Wreen
Managing Director

Performing Arts

Darren Critz Director of Performing Arts Programs
Sofia Frohna
Assistant Producer of Performing Arts Programs


Jennifer Brennan Director of Literary Programs
Drew Richardson
Lead Producer of Literary Programs
Vivienne Woodward
Producer of Literary Programs
Mary Shimkin
Director of Broadcast & Literary Initiatives
Matthew Love
Consultant for Literary Programs
Magdalene Wrobleski
Literary Assistant
Mollie Gordon Program Assistant
Madeleine Hearn
Literary Intern
Gabriela Parra
Lambis Literary Intern


Edward J. Budz Director of Film Programs


Johanna H. Thomsen Senior Director of Strategy & Engagement
Mary Shimkin
Director of Broadcast & Literary Initiatives
Jason Sanford
Director of Engagement
Carolin Beine Creative Director
Kristin Cook Senior Marketing Manager
Eric Poindexter
Manager of Patron Experience
Sophia Cázares Marketing Associate
Zakiya Abdur-Rahma
n Graphic Designer
Chris Hagenbuch
Video Editor
Caroline Dowden
Digital Specialist
Blake Zidell
Blake Zidell & Associates, Public Relations and Press Inquiries


Lulu Fogarty Director of Education
Madeline Cohen
Director of All Write!
Regina Larkin
Manager of Education Programs


Brenda Murad Director of Development
Maren Berthelsen Deputy Director of Development
Melanie Nulf
Development Assistant

Theater Operations & Production

Elisabeth Miller
Director of Theater Operations
Chris Davis
Head of Production
James Latze
l Associate Production Manager
Zoë Rhinehart Associate Production Manager
Pamela Agaloos
Head of House
Andrew Lustbader
House Manager
John Jackson
Lobby Manager
Brian Aldous
House Lighting Designer

Event Management & Theater Rental

Monica Broadman
Director of Event Management
Rachel Nortz
Event Management Associate

Box Office

Michael Chaves Assistant Box Office Manager
Kaytie Scott Assistant Box Office Assistant Manager


Mouhamadou Djite Director of Finance
Doug Winters
Senior Accountant


Jason Walker
Facilities Director
Fritz Exume
Facility Supervisor
Remy Ayala Maintenance
Ria Batson


Amy McLaughlin
Manager of Administration
Charles Blanchard
Director of Information Technology


Isaiah Sheffer*
Co-Founder and Co-Artistic Director (1978-1988)
Artistic Director (1988-2010)
Founding Artistic Director (2010-2012)
Allan Miller
Co-Founder and Co-Artistic Director (1978-1988)

*in memoriam

Your generosity makes possible a vibrant array of music, literature, film, family, and arts education programs!