Close Search

Event Program




Hosted by N. K. Jemisin

When the Yogurt Took Over by John Scalzi

Performed by Jin Ha

The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas by Ursula K. Le Guin

Performed by Hugh Dancy

Me and My Algo by Alexandra Chang

Performed by Catherine Cohen

On the Sudden Increase of Changeling Stock: A Report by Daniel Lavery

Performed by Jin Ha

The Ones Who Stay and Fight by N. K. Jemisin

Performed by Teagle F. Bougere

Masks are encouraged and appreciated for this event.

At this performance of Selected Shorts, real-time captioning (CART) will be available in our theater for patrons with hearing loss, deafness, and/or different language and learning needs. CART can be accessed through individual smartphones and tablets at

The Artists (in alphabetical order)

The AUTHORS (in alphabetical order)



“When the Yogurt Took Over,” by John Scalzi. Copyright © 2010 by John Scalzi. Used by permission of the author.

“The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas,” by Ursula K. Le Guin, from The Wind’s Twelve Quarters (Harper & Row, 1975). First published in New Dimensions 3 (Doubleday, 1973). Copyright © 1973 by Ursula K. Le Guin. Used by permission of Curtis Brown Ltd.

“Me and My Algo” from Tomb Sweeping by Alexandra Chang. Copyright © 2023 by Alexandra Chang. By permission of HarperCollins Publishers.

“On the Sudden Increase of Changeling Stock: A Report,” by Daniel Lavery. Commissioned by Symphony Space. Copyright © 2023 by Daniel Lavery and Symphony Space.

“The Ones Who Stay and Fight,” by N. K. Jemisin, from How Long ‘til Black Future Month? (Orbit Books, 2018). Copyright © 2018 by N. K. Jemisin. Used by permission of the author.


Selected Shorts is supported by the Dungannon Foundation, creator of The Rea Award for the Short Story.

Symphony Space’s season of programming is also made possible by the generous support of Susan Bay Nimoy, Estate of Douglas M. Matheson, Seedlings Foundation, Howard Gilman Foundation, MacMillan Family Foundation, The Shubert Foundation, Blanchette Hooker Rockefeller Fund, Charina Endowment Fund, Henry Nias Foundation, The Fan Fox and Leslie R. Samuels Foundation, PECO Foundation, Coastal Community Foundation of South Carolina, Mustang Foundation, Michael Tuch Foundation, Axe-Houghton Foundation, Jody and John Arnhold and the Arnhold Foundation, The Grodzins Fund, The Isambard Kingdom Brunel Society of North America, and Theatre Development Fund.

Programming is also made possible with public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Kathy Hochul and the New York State Legislature.

Symphony Space thanks our generous supporters, including our Board of Directors, Producers Circle, and members, who make our programs possible with their annual support.

Floral Design by PlantShed

Symphony Space Staff

Kathy Landau Executive Director
Peg Wreen
Managing Director
Isaiah Sheffer
Co-Founder and Co-Artistic Director (1978-1988)
Artistic Director (1988-2010)
Founding Artistic Director (2010-2012)
Allan Miller
Co-Founder and Co-Artistic Director (1978-1988)

Jennifer Brennan Director of Literary Programs
Drew Richardson
Lead Producer of Literary Programs
Vivienne Woodward
Producer of Literary Programs
Mary Shimkin
Director of Broadcast & Literary Initiatives
Sarah Montague Selected Shorts Radio Producer
Jenny Falcon Selected Shorts Radio Producer
Miles B. Smith Selected Shorts Recording Engineer
Matthew Love Consultant for Literary Programs
Magdalene Wrobleski
Literary Assistant
Sophia Raimondi Literary Intern
Lulu Chatterjee Literary Intern

*in memoriam

Your generosity makes possible a vibrant array of music, literature, film, family, and arts education programs!