Close Search

Event Program




Hosted by Santino Fontana

The Facts of Life by Anthony Marra

Performed by Santino Fontana

My Mother’s Wedding by Tessa Hadley

Performed by Sarah Mezzanotte

A Visit from the Tune Squad by Carlos Greaves

Performed by Santino Fontana, Dylan Marron, and Sarah Mezzanotte

The Artists (in alphabetical order)

The AUTHORS (in alphabetical order)



“The Facts of Life,” by Anthony Marra. Commissioned by Symphony Space. Copyright © 2023 by Anthony Marra and Symphony Space.

“My Mother’s Wedding,” by Tessa Hadley, from Reader, I Married Him: Stories Inspired by Jane Eyre (William Morrow, 2016). Copyright © 2016 by Tessa Hadley. Used by permission of the author.

“A Visit from the Tune Squad,” by Carlos Greaves. Commissioned by Symphony Space. Copyright © 2023 by Carlos Greaves and Symphony Space.


Selected Shorts is supported by the Dungannon Foundation, creator of The Rea Award for the Short Story.

Symphony Space’s season of programming is also made possible by the generous support of Susan Bay Nimoy, Estate of Douglas M. Matheson, Seedlings Foundation, Howard Gilman Foundation, MacMillan Family Foundation, The Shubert Foundation, Blanchette Hooker Rockefeller Fund, Charina Endowment Fund, Henry Nias Foundation, The Fan Fox and Leslie R. Samuels Foundation, PECO Foundation, Coastal Community Foundation of South Carolina, Mustang Foundation, Michael Tuch Foundation, Axe-Houghton Foundation, Jody and John Arnhold and the Arnhold Foundation, The Grodzins Fund, The Isambard Kingdom Brunel Society of North America, and Theatre Development Fund.

Programming is also made possible with public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Kathy Hochul and the New York State Legislature.

Symphony Space thanks our generous supporters, including our Board of Directors, Producers Circle, and members, who make our programs possible with their annual support.

Floral Design by PlantShed

Symphony Space Staff

Kathy Landau Executive Director
Peg Wreen
Managing Director
Isaiah Sheffer
Co-Founder and Co-Artistic Director (1978-1988)
Artistic Director (1988-2010)
Founding Artistic Director (2010-2012)
Allan Miller
Co-Founder and Co-Artistic Director (1978-1988)

Jennifer Brennan Director of Literary Programs
Drew Richardson
Lead Producer of Literary Programs
Vivienne Woodward
Producer of Literary Programs
Mary Shimkin
Director of Broadcast & Literary Initiatives
Sarah Montague Selected Shorts Radio Producer
Jenny Falcon Selected Shorts Radio Producer
Miles B. Smith Selected Shorts Recording Engineer
Matthew Love Consultant for Literary Programs
Magdalene Wrobleski
Literary Assistant
Sophia Raimondi Literary Intern
Lulu Chatterjee Literary Intern

*in memoriam

Your generosity makes possible a vibrant array of music, literature, film, family, and arts education programs!