Close Search

Event Program

Selected Shorts (2/16)



Hosted by Alison Stewart

Doggy-Dog World by Hilary Leichter

Performed by Sarah Mezzanotte

Palaver by Bryan Washington

Performed by Petronia Paley and Michael Potts

Horror Story by Carmen Maria Machado

Performed by Molly Bernard

Sister Godzilla by Louise Erdrich

Performed by Cynthia Nixon

At this Performance of Selected Shorts: Real-time captioning (CART) will be available in our theater for patrons with hearing loss, deafness, and/or different language and learning needs. CART can be accessed through individual smartphones and tablets at

The Performers

The Authors

More Information


“Doggy-Dog World” by Hilary Leichter. First published in Paper Darts Magazine. Copyright © 2016 by Hilary Liechter. Used by permission of the author.

“Palaver” by Bryan Washington. First published in McSweeney’s, 62. Copyright © 2020 by Bryan Washington. Used by permission of Sterling Lord Literistic.

“Horror Story” by Carmen Maria Machado. First published in Granta. Copyright © 2015 by Carmen Maria Machado. Used by permission of Neon Literary.

“Sister Godzilla” from the February 2001 issue of The Atlantic. Copyright © 2001 by Louise Erdrich, used by permission of The Wylie Agency, LLC.

Selected Shorts Funding Credits

Selected Shorts is supported by the Dungannon Foundation, creator of The Rea Award for the Short Story. Support is also provided by the NYC COVID-19 Response and Impact Fund in The New York Community Trust, the Howard Gilman Foundation, The Shubert Foundation, the Charina Endowment Fund, the Blanchette Hooker Rockefeller Fund, The Achelis and Bodman Foundation, the Henry Nias Foundation, the Consolidated Edison Company of New York, the Michael Tuch Foundation, the Vidda Foundation, the Axe-Houghton Foundation, the Lemberg Foundation, and The Grodzins Fund.

Selected Shorts is also made possible by the National Endowment for the Arts, and with public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Kathy Hochul and the New York State Legislature.

Symphony Space thanks our generous supporters, including our Board of Directors, Producers Circle, and members, who make our programs possible with their annual support.

Flowers courtesy of PlantShed.


It’s a truly extraordinary moment to be here for the 21/22 Symphony Space season! We are so grateful to the independent venue operators who banded together to initiate the Save Our Stages campaign, which became the Shuttered Venue Operators Grant. Through the leadership of Senator Chuck Schumer, and with bipartisan support from many Senators and Representatives, the creative community was bolstered by this special funding. All of us at Symphony Space extend our heartfelt thanks to each and every individual who recognized the unmistakable power and importance of the arts in this most critical moment.

Symphony Space Staff

Kathy Landau Executive Director
Peg Wreen
Managing Director
Isaiah Sheffer
Co-Founder and Co-Artistic Director (1978-1988)
Artistic Director (1988-2010)
Founding Artistic Director (2010-2012)
Allan Miller
Co-Founder and Co-Artistic Director (1978-1988)

Jennifer Brennan Director of Literary Programs
Drew Richardson
Lead Producer of Literary Programs
Vivienne Woodward
Producer of Literary Programs
Mary Shimkin
Director of Broadcast & Literary Initiatives
Matthew Love
Consultant for Literary Programs
Magdalene Wrobleski
Literary Assistant
Antonio Brown
Mollie Gordon

*in memoriam

Your generosity makes possible a vibrant array of music, literature, film, family, and arts education programs!