Close Search

Event Program

2022 Gala



Music and Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim

Book by Hugh Wheeler

Suggested by a Film by Ingmar Bergman

Originally Produced and Directed on Broadway by Harold Prince

Hosted by Danny Burstein

Music Direction by Paul Staroba

Orchestrations by Sam Davis

Liebeslieder Preparation by Ben Whiteley

Sound Design by Ryan Godleski & Chris Davis

Lighting Design by Avi Dobkin

Produced by Joel Fram & Annette Jolles

Directed by Annette Jolles

The Artists

The Band


More Information

Cast (in order of appearance)


Mr. Lindquist

Nicholas Ward

Mrs. Nordstrom

Leah Horowitz

Mrs. Anderssen

Andrea Jones-Sojola

Mr. Erlanson

Daniel T. Curran

Mrs. Segstrom

Lindsay Roberts

Fredrik Egerman, a middle-aged lawyer

Ben Davis

Henrik Egerman, his 17-year-old son, a seminarian

Christian Probst

Anne Egerman, his 18-year old second wife

Emilie Kouatchou

Fredrika Armfeldt, Desirée’s daughter

Stella Fink

Desirée Armfeldt, a somewhat famous actress

Carolee Carmello

Madame Armfeldt, her mother, a somewhat legendary courtesan

Judy Kaye

Count Carl-Magnus Malcolm, Desirée’s lover

Ryan Silverman

Countess Charlotte Malcolm, his wife

Kate Baldwin

Petra, the Egermans’ maid

Christiani Pitts



Paul Staroba


Kristina Musser


Kathy Cherbas

Flute, Piccolo, Clarinet, Alto Sax

Dave Noland

Oboe, English Horn, Clarinet

Steve Lyon

Bassoon, Clarinet, Bass Clarinet

Chad Smith


Lynette Wardle


Erik Charlston


Marc Schmied


A small town in Sweden, and thereabouts, at the turn of the last century.

Night WaltzOrchestra and Liebeslieders
NowFredrik, Anne
SoonAnne, Henrik, Fredrik
The Glamorous LifeFredrika, Desirée, Madame Armfeldt, Liebeslieders
You Must Meet My WifeFredrik, Desirée
LiaisonsMadame Armfeldt
In Praise of WomenCarl-Magnus
Every Day a Little DeathCharlotte, Anne
A Weekend in the CountryCarl-Magnus
Every Day a Little DeathCharlotte, Anne
A Weekend in the CountryThe Company
The Sun Won’t Set (Night Waltz I)Liebeslieders
The Sun Sits Low (Night Waltz II)Liebeslieders
It Would Have Been WonderfulFredrik, Carl-Magnus
Perpetual AnticipationMrs. Nordstom, Mrs. Segstrom, Mrs. Anderssen
Send in the ClownsDesirée, Fredrik
The Miller’s SonPetra
Send in the Clowns RepriseDesirée, Fredrik
Last WaltzThe Company
Funding Credits

Isabelle Bosquet-Morra of Fleurisa, Liz Hinden and her team at Ruth C. Schwartz & Co Martin Lowe, Rick Pappas, Eric Poland, Ben Whiteley, Kevin Yatarola, and Blake Zidell.

Symphony Space is honored by the generous support of Susan Bay Nimoy, the Virginia B. Toulmin Foundation, the Howard Gilman Foundation, the Blanchette Hooker Rockefeller Fund, The Pierre and Tana Matisse Foundation, The Shubert Foundation, the Charina Endowment Fund, the Dungannon Foundation, the Cornelia T. Bailey Foundation, The Achelis and Bodman Foundation, the Henry Nias Foundation, the Consolidated Edison Company of New York, The Fan Fox and Leslie R. Samuels Foundation, the Michael Tuch Foundation, the Vidda Foundation, the Axe-Houghton Foundation, the Lemberg Foundation, and The Grodzins Fund.

Our programs are made possible, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council. Programming is also made possible by the National Endowment for the Arts, and with public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Kathy Hochul and the New York State Legislature.

We gratefully acknowledge our Board of Directors, Producers Circle and members, whose generous gifts made Symphony Space a home for art, ideas, and community worth sharing.


Martin Lowe, Rick Pappas, Eric Poland, Ben Whiteley, Isabelle Bosquet-Morra of Fleurisa, Liz Hinden and her team at Ruth C. Schwartz & Co, Kevin Yatarola, Brenda Murad, Julie Griffith, Isabelle Thomas, Melanie Nulf, Darren Critz, Sofia Frohna, Monica Broadman, Rachel Nortz, Johanna Thomsen, Mary Shimkin, Caro Beine, Kristin Cook, Lori Moore, Lisa Lam, Sophia Cázares, Zakiya Abdur-Rahman, Eric Poindexter, Madeline Malinowski, Jennifer Brennan, Vivienne Woodward, Drew Richardson, Maggie Wrobleski, Chris Davis, James Latzel, Myka Papetti, Jason Walker, Fritz Exume, Ed Budz, and Blake Zidell

It’s a truly extraordinary moment to be here for the 21/22 Symphony Space season! We are so grateful to the independent venue operators who banded together to initiate the Save Our Stages campaign, which became the Shuttered Venue Operators Grant. Through the leadership of Senator Chuck Schumer, and with bipartisan support from many Senators and Representatives, the creative community was bolstered by this special funding. All of us at Symphony Space extend our heartfelt thanks to each and every individual who recognized the unmistakable power and importance of the arts in this most critical moment.

Symphony Space Staff

Kathy Landau Executive Director
Peg Wreen
Managing Director
Isaiah Sheffer
Co-Founder and Co-Artistic Director (1978-1988)
Artistic Director (1988-2010)
Founding Artistic Director (2010-2012)
Allan Miller
Co-Founder and Co-Artistic Director (1978-1988)

Jennifer Brennan Director of Literary Programs
Drew Richardson
Lead Producer of Literary Programs
Vivienne Woodward
Producer of Literary Programs
Mary Shimkin
Director of Broadcast & Literary Initiatives
Matthew Love
Consultant for Literary Programs
Magdalene Wrobleski
Literary Assistant
Antonio Brown
Mollie Gordon

*in memoriam

Your generosity makes possible a vibrant array of music, literature, film, family, and arts education programs!