Close Search

Buy Tickets for New Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra

Visiting Presenter / Music

New Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra


For its season opener, the New Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra welcomes back award-winning Mexican conductor Felipe Tristán, who will lead the orchestra in an all-Tchaikovsky program. The first half will feature Kinga Augustyn as soloist for the composer's romantic masterpiece, the Violin Concerto in D Major. Classical-Modern Music Review praised Augustyn, saying, "Violinist Kinga Augustyn [holds] forth as needed with a sturdy yet impassioned robustness that always seems just right." The concert will conclude with Tchaikovsky's vibrant Symphony No. 4 in F Minor, which he considered his "best symphonic work," and which musicologist Susan Key called "the first full expression of his artistic voice."


Peter Jay Sharp Theatre

Expected Run Time is 120 minutes

Your generosity makes possible a vibrant array of music, literature, film, family, and arts education programs!