Close Search

Buy Tickets for New Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra

Visiting Presenter / Music

New Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra


New Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra presents

Teresa Cheung, Conductor

With Wendy Y. Chen, Violin

The New Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra welcomes back guest conductor Teresa Cheung for the second time this season. On the program is the Butterfly Lovers' Violin Concerto, composed by He Zhanhao and Chen Gang, when they were both students at the Shanghai Conservatory of Music. Based on a Chinese legend about star-crossed lovers, the piece premiered in 1959. Wendy Y. Chen, who was a student of Lina Yu, the original soloist for the piece, will be the violin soloist. Completing the program will be Gustav Mahler's First Symphony in D Major. Mahler referred to this symphony as "the most spontaneous and daringly composed of my works,” and it is now one of Mahler’s most popular and frequently performed compositions.


Peter Jay Sharp Theatre

Expected Run Time is 120 minutes

Your generosity makes possible a vibrant array of music, literature, film, family, and arts education programs!