Selected Shorts: An Evening with the National Book Awards, Hosted by Lisa Lucas
event Selected Shorts: An Evening with the National Book Awards, Hosted by Lisa Lucas thumbnail

Standard: $31 and up
Members: $28 and up
30 and Under (with I.D.): $16 and up
Premium: $81 and up
Premium Member: $78 and up
Premium Tickets Include a $50 Tax-Deductible Donation

Each ticket subject to a $5 service fee.

Due to the storm, tonight's performance of Selected Shorts: An Evening With The National Book Awards Has Been CANCELED. Ticket holders will be contacted by our Box Office.

Since 1950, the National Book Awards has celebrated the best of American literature, honoring such authors as Ralph Ellison, Flannery O'Connor, William Faulkner and Alice Walker. Led by Lisa Lucas, National Book Award finalists Lauren Groff (Fates and Furies) and Carmen Maria Machado (Her Body and Other Parties) hand-pick and introduce stories from some of the honored short story collections that have inspired or influenced their own work. The evening will include performances by actors Geoffrey Arend (Madam Secretary), Heather Burns (Sneaky Pete), André Holland (Moonlight), and Cristin Milioti (Fargo), and stories from the 2016 Rea Award winner Jim Shepard, as well as Jean Stafford, Joan Silber, and 2017 National Book Award winner Jesmyn Ward!

Selected Shorts is produced by Symphony Space and broadcast on more than 150 stations around the country. The Selected Shorts podcast consistently ranks as one of the most popular podcasts on iTunes. The series began in 1985 and enjoys sold-out performances to this day. Selected Shorts was conceived with a simple premise: take great stories by well-known and emerging writers and have them performed by terrific actors of stage and screen. Featuring stories around a lively theme, the favorite works of a guest author, or a special collaboration, each Selected Shorts event is a unique night of literature in performance.

Actors subject to change.

Premium tickets are available and include a $50 tax-deductible donation to Symphony Space.

Media Sponsor: